‘I can do it!’

Recently I got to sing and play with a bunch of lovely strangers. Let me tell you, once you have been hoisted aloft by two strong men whilst belting out the closing lines of ‘I can do it!’, there’s no going back. Never heard that song? Me neither, until seconds before the words and tune came out of my mouth. It was the final number in an improvised mini musical set in the Juilliard Music School, New York. I was a flautist who’d finally conquered her confidence issues. I don’t know what it sounded or looked like to the improvisers watching, all I know is how it felt – and it was fan-flipping-tastic! In that moment, arms stretched to the ceiling, voice soaring, I was Liza Minnelli, Bette Midler and a dash of Ethel Merman all rolled up together.

This was just one of multiple life-affirming moments I experienced during The Maydays’ improv intensive at Osho Leela, a retreat centre in Dorset. I loved it all, but I REALLY loved the musical improv.

I’ve always enjoyed singing – never in a formal capacity, you understand – school choirs were for kids who sang from the same (hymn) sheet, whereas I was a self-styled maverick teenager, intent on cutting off my proverbial nose to spite my flawlessly made-up face.

At home it was different. In the privacy of my own bedroom I sang my heart out. Years later I found out my mum learned to gauge my general health by whether or not I was singing. Forty years on, it’s still the same. Sadness or sickness render me voiceless.

Neither of my parents were musical, as such, although my dad has a great singing voice and could always be found at the end of family parties in the company of his brothers – six of them together on a good night- pints in hand, working their way through all the old London classics. What a treat to have heard them. Today – who knows? – they might have made it onto Gareth Malone’s Naked Choir. They’d have certainly given it their all.

I used to love musicals when I was growing up. My earliest memory of theatre going was a trip to London for my eleventh birthday to see the original production of Grease. Several years ahead of the blockbuster film version, it starred TV actor Paul Nicholas as Danny and ‘Evita in waiting’ Elaine Page as Sandy. I was mesmerised. I was hooked.

Then, at some point in my early 20s, my love affair with musicals ended. They were silly and frivolous, which, of course, generally, is their whole point. You don’t go to see a musical for the complex storyline and nuanced character development. You go for the knockout songs that course through your bloodstream for days afterwards. My mum has never forgotten the time I took her to see Joseph at a theatre in Middlesbrough. And I will always remember the sight of my mum – a woman who normally shuns any kind of attention – standing up, dancing and clapping along to the reprise of ‘Any Dream Will Do’, face lit up like a Christmas tree.

I reckon you can’t beat that kind of musical high. So, ‘Power Ballad, Fame School, La Scala top-billing’ Melanie is back, and from now on I shall be seeking more opportunities to let my singing voice out to play and giving my inner diva all the encouragement she needs.

4 thoughts on “‘I can do it!’

  1. Singing together is a hugely powerful force for connection. the roar of the rugby crowd singing Swing Low Sweet Chariot is one, and the singing of hymns with their unfogettable tunes is a huge contribution to churches of all faiths. Choirs have been shown to transform lives as Gareth Malone shows. One big problem – can today’s pop songs be sung in the bedroom or bath? Songs need to have a strong pattern of music, as well as words hence the popularity of musicals. In the refugees from Syria in Amman they have just done a hugely successful, dynamic Arabic performance of Olliver! with the Syrian refugee children singing their hearts out,. and making friends. Sing along- We forgive Coca Cola much when it spread the lyric “I want to teach the world to sing in perfect harmony” whoever sang it first.

    Like

  2. My first memory of musical theatre was my Grandpa taking my sister, mum and I to the Black and White Minstrel show in Scarborough. I must have been 5 or 6 years old and this was meant to be a very big treat for the family. Grandpa had booked front row seats and I can remember jiggling about in my seat waiting for the show to begin – so very excited about the special outing, sitting in itchy velvet seats blanketed in warm darkness. And then the curtains opened. I was hit by the brightest light I had ever experienced, a loud WAAAA noise and what seemed to be an unbroken and endless line of black faces, white lips and white jazz hands all shouting shouting at me. My sister and I promptly burst into tears which turned into racking sobs and an powerful urge to run. Completely traumatised, we had to be taken out,. We refused to go back in. Poor mum, poor Grandpa, their evening ruined. Looking back the idea of a show with white men blacked up, seems unbelievable. The experience is imprinted on my mind and it put me off going to see a musical for years… and then I had my daughter Emma. From the early months she hummed. She sang to her toys, she sang as she was pushed out in the pram.
    Later she would sing in her bedroom to get to sleep and then as a teenager she would disappear down the garden and i would hear strains of pop songs and songs she was making up as she went along. So now I go to her gigs or secretly listen to her band practices, but i still haven’t made it back into the theatre for a musical.

    Like

  3. This post itself sings and dances – I love it! And funnily enough, I find that I, too, gauge my daughter’s wellbeing by whether or not she’s singing and how much. The little warble behind the closed door is one of the best sounds I know.

    Like

  4. Brilliant Melanie! so darn right!!! I have just this week re-joined a community choir – it’s chaotic & a tad shambolic- and it’s great!!! Hxx

    Like

Leave a comment